RSS

Copy and Paste Blogging: SPEAK OUT!

30 Jan

Two days ago, I stumbled upon one of my original articles: https://chocolatechutzpah.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/21-unbelievable-things-women-will-do-to-get-married/ on Stella Dimoko-Korkus’ blog: http://www.stelladimokokorkus.com/2014/01/crazy-things-some-ladies-do-to-get.html.
    No acknowledgement had been given to me and I immediately sent her an email drawing it to her attention. This was the response I got:

” My dear. Im sorry bout this oh. Even punch stole all my original words last week when they went to defend a story and did not give me credit. I did a double take and almost fainted.
Before i became a blogger. My magazine articles was taken by Linda without giving me credit for yrs. She and others and there was notin i cud do.
There is no. Effective law on this. Just stop puttn out ur articles until u device a way. I cant say more but i have decided to join them since they will not stop oh.”

I was too stunned for words. Stella didn’t change her blog post after the email. As far as she was concerned she had mentioned in the post that she didn’t write it and linked back to the website she took it from. More importantly intellectual property theft was normal since she had been a victim in the past but I wasn’t ready to let it go. I wasn’t angry with Stella for taking my work, I was angry that she chose not to fight for herself when others took her work and now expected me to follow suit!

On a whim I googled that particular post and these blogs had also stolen that post without any acknowledgement:

http://nigeriacamera.net/2014/01/28/exposed-crazy-things-some-desperate-nigerian-girls-are-doing-to-get-married/index.html?

http://www.hotrendezvous.blogspot.com/2012/09/interesting-21-unbelievable-things.html?m=1

http://www.superwomannig.com/2013/07/21-crazy-things-nigerian-women-would-do.html?m=1

http://somewhereinmoscow.blogspot.com/2012/09/21-unbelievable-things-women-will-do-to.html?m=1

After the first Google page had yielded these four as well as two other blogs who did the right thing and acknowledged me, I was too angry to search for more. I wondered how many of my posts had been illegally reproduced elsewhere on the internet and what my next line of action should be.

So many people have suffered this in silence, from the big shot bloggers to the newbies and it continues to be a disturbing trend. Now in Nigeria, every Tom, Dick and Harry feels they can start a blog with zero imagination and zero creativity just as long as they can ‘copy and paste’ from the vast material available on the Internet. These materials were written by human beings who in many cases do not require any form of financial settlement in exchange for using their materials but just an acknowledgement and perhaps a link to the original post so that they get the recognition they deserve.

Nigerians especially are guilty of this copy and paste menace. In my first year as a masters student at the University of Sheffield, I was amazed at what emphasis the University placed on plagiarism. It wasn’t even enough to include your source as a reference, you were not allowed to lift the contents word for word and before submitting your assignment you had to first submit a draft to turnitin which was an automated plagiarism checker. The penalty for plagiarism was not a laughing matter and facing a panel or repeating the course were just a few of the punishments.

People have been involved in lawsuits costing them thousands of dollars due to intellectual property theft but like Stella sadly pointed out such laws are absent or lax at best in Nigeria and common in all spheres of the entertainment industry. I remember when Nollywood actors and actresses came together to fight against piracy and even in the music industry it’s a serious problem. One might say Piracy and Plagiarism are two different things but if an artist sweats to come up with some good stuff and someone else takes the recognition, glory or gains then it is just wrong. It is daylight robbery to pass someone else’s work off as yours and to all those who justify themselves that they got it from someone else who was the actual thief, ask the policeman whether he doesn’t arrest a person found with stolen goods even if the person claims the stolen goods were bought from the actual thief.

I have been advised to stop putting articles out till I device a way and this is one way I hope will make a difference. I am speaking out today against intellectual property theft in Nigeria and copy and paste bloggers. Honest, talented bloggers in the blogosphere should unite and put a stop to this. No more monkey dey work, baboon dey chop! If you doubt that this is a legit issue, contact a lawyer. I have two working with me who are encouraging me to sue. Now that I have put this post out in the open, I will make stealing posts from my blog/website a legal issue from henceforth.

Please stop copy and paste blogging. I don’t think any writer would prevent you from reproducing part of their work if you gave them some credit in the post. Let’s fight for what’s right and shake off the Naija mentality and oppression. I almost didn’t write this because some people kept tryna scare me into letting go but now is the time to SPEAK OUT! Please keep sharing this post till the word gets out.

Have a blessed day Chutzpah fam,
xoxo

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2014 in Inspirational

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Copy and Paste Blogging: SPEAK OUT!

  1. Vuprax

    January 30, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    This is a very bad trend. People in this part of the world don’t realise that plagiarism is a very serious offence and it has legal consequences. You just might need to sue one blogger to jumpstart the right thing here.

     
  2. zinger

    January 30, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    I can imagine. Little blogger like me also got my post stolen. Painful part is that the person used plagarism software to edit my words. No reference to my site too. I just googled my keyword ‘zingerthots’ and saw d thief. Werin we go do na?

     
    • Neetah

      February 2, 2014 at 6:45 am

      Na wa. Editing it is on another level. We need to speak out against this!

       
  3. drnsmusingsDr. N

    January 31, 2014 at 9:12 am

    If u wan sue e go be lik say u too do but her reply was poor, very poor. She should have apologized. http://www.drnsmusings.wordpress.com

     
    • Neetah

      February 2, 2014 at 6:46 am

      After this warning I will sue future offenders, if they like make them talk say I too do. Thanks babes

       
  4. Sir Farouk

    January 31, 2014 at 11:13 am

    This is very sad and her response that basically everyone is doing it is even sadder. It is a reflection of our education system where originality is not rewarded and you have so many people who copy their theses from the internet or others and arent caught because the lecturers have like one million people to grade. I do not think I have been plagiarized but then again I have never searched for my work and I am a small blogger in my own corner of the internet. My condolences!

     
    • Neetah

      February 2, 2014 at 6:48 am

      Thanks. Nigerians really need a change in mindset.

       
  5. Adesuwa

    January 31, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    I am righteously indignant for you. How can people be so callous? Do they think it is easy to put words in print that make sense? Please legal action has to be taken if this happens again after this post. I’m right behind you in this.

     
    • Neetah

      February 1, 2014 at 9:09 pm

      Thanks sis, this really is their final warning

       
  6. Maggielola

    February 1, 2014 at 5:53 am

    I chuckled at her response. That is not acceptable and should never be. Why not be a voice of change if hard work and luck has granted you a platform where you have people listening to you? With great power comes great responsibility- especially for those who wield ink and paper on in our cases, a url and blog posts.

     
    • Neetah

      February 1, 2014 at 9:08 pm

      Thanks for the support, wish more bloggers agreed with Spiderman’s mantra.

       
  7. Yetunde (@yetundeU)

    February 2, 2014 at 3:27 pm

    Please sue or report the offending blogs to the hosting services. Some will do something. That response is the dumbest crap I’ve read in a long time (and I assure you that I read a lot of crap). So her defense is “I stole from you, deal with it!”

     
  8. Uchangel

    February 3, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    1st off, I salute your courage cos this issue is often treated with levity in this part of the world, and intelligent originals are being taken for granted. I for one, appreciate your style of writing (u cant believe how boring some blogs can be, lol), so its not fair that someone would ‘copy-cat’ ur work. 2ndly, there is nothing like ‘too do’ in this matter. To be fore warned is to be fore armed- u have by this article, sent out the “W” word, so henceforth, i second that u take legal action on future offenders to send it home that u are not just bluffing.

     
  9. david

    February 15, 2014 at 10:35 am

    Stella shd be ashamed of herself…y can’t she be d change…yet we complain about our government and the present state of our country….rubbish!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
