RSS

The Excuse!

27 Nov

image

Ok November is gradually drawing to a close and I have to confess! Chutzpah fam I have sinned. I have fallen off the wagon and wallowed in the laps of procrastination. I have sunk to the depths of excuse-ville to ponder upon my inadequacies, blaming others but myself.

What am I on about…?

Nanowrimo2013! I had the badge, i started the journey but here I am with barely 10,000 words penned on paper. I have failed my challenge miserably and national writing month has become national empty words month! Alas my greater sin was taking time off from blogging. I am sure you all thought how noble and utterly incredible that Miz Chutzpah was finally gonna write a full novel in one month. 50, 000 magical words (and/or inclusive) but here I am, writing an apology instead as I shamefully face the blogosphere. Write I did not, read I did not ( my masters sadly tossed aside howbeit temporarily) but do I regret this one month spent lounging? Of course not (uhm I mean yes of course) but before I apologize allow me to formally tender my excuses.

1. It was my weight’s fault. I have lost 4 kg in the past month and I won’t lie tryna be creative when hunger is thwacking your innards is quite impossible. I have looked at Chinese restaurants so lustfully of late that my ever faithful ugwu and chicken breast threatened to kick me to the curb. I have skipped till my bossoms begged for respite and drank water like I lived in a desert so you would agree with me that 4kg is a mean number, 10 would be far nicer and of course now you can understand why I could not write those words

2. It was GEJ’s fault! What? Don’t roll your eyes at me, everyone loves blaming the government for everything so why should I be different (might I add that PDP is to blame too!) 😉

3. It was ASUU’s fault. If they hadn’t gone on strike my neighbors wouldn’t be home drinking and blasting music to the wee hours of the night making me unable to write down two remotely connected sentences! Please send our kids back to school biko!

4. It was my boss’s fault. In an ideal world I should have been given a full month off work to express my inner creativity as I poured out my passion on paper but since I have to work 8am to 6pm every day that leaves me with just enough energy to creatively go to bed!

5. Blame marriage. I had to cook, clean, color and then do some more cooking so really if the words couldn’t jolly well write themselves I wasn’t gonna add that to my list of wifely duties.

Truthfully my excuses are endless…and I would cheekily rant and rave about how justified I was if you had the time to listen but the truth is if something is important to you, you will accomplish it. NO EXCUSES! Before y’all bury me, take a moment to consider all the things you have failed to do and all the flighty excuses you thought every one else was buying. The truth is most excuses are lame and letting our family, our friends and our boss’s down is not even as bad as letting ourselves down yet we do it so often. As the year comes to a close it’s time to take stock of your life. Look at those things you have been putting off since January and the excuses for not doing them which by now must have worn really thin. You can do it! Don’t wait till January first to start making cliché new year resolutions, just decide today is the day.

I used to be so afraid of driving and kept procrastinating actually learning to drive but this month I registered at a driving school and now I can’t wait to be auditioned for the fast and the furious. Maybe I should add a ferrari to my wish list? Dear Santa….ahem, to be continued.

Chutzpah fam, do something incredible this year! End the year with a bang.

Xoxoxo
ps: sorry for being AWOL and not writing my 50k words. Kisses.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Excuse!

  1. Michael Olafusi

    November 27, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    Lol!

    At least you got a badge. I didn’t do beyond registering.

    Your excuse number 1 is good enough. Losing weight will soon become a spiritual warfare, like most other extremely difficult goals.

    But you could make you NaNoWriMo extend beyond November, you could still keep trying to write part of the novel daily.

    Three months ago, I decided to write at least 5 blog posts weekly. Guess what? I now write 1 blog post daily. And I think it’s like weight loss, you keep thinking you’ll falter but somehow you keep going on.

    BTW, maybe it’s time to start practicing for NaNoWriMo 2014. It’s a writing marathon, and you need to build up to it.

     
  2. Dr Caroline Umebese

    November 27, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    Your words are penned in such hilarious style. I wish I had this gift attached to my writing. Even when I am so stressed at work, reading your blog just puts me in a lighter and healthier disposition. Love you sweetheart. Mummy.

     
  3. Nancy O Peters

    May 28, 2014 at 11:22 am

    Indeed I must confess, its been a while I read such good writing from such a passionate writer. Your words Neetah are oh! so wonderful. I love it! I admire it! I admire you!!!
    Your creativity leaves me awed!. And am happy I stumbled upon this blog…( though I wonder why I haven’t heard of you before now). Thank you for your master pieces. Don’t ever stop writing please!

     

Leave a Reply

 
