RSS

10. Wedding Chronicles: TAYO…the saga continues…

29 Jan

Tayo couldn’t sleep. She had spent the last two weeks avoiding Jide but that wasn’t as exhausting as running from her thoughts. It wasn’t like Jide had worried her too much anyway. He seemed to have his plate full. She glanced at Aisha sleeping just beside her. Technically Aisha wasn’t the only one to say no to a ring but she wasn’t ready to let any of her friends in on her dilemma till she had brought some kind of organisation to her life.

She still couldn’t wrap her head around the fact that Philip and Ahmed were the same people!

“If I were president, every individual would only have one name! It’d be the law!”

Mtschewwwwww.

She remembered sleeping Aisha and lowered her voice. Life could be so complicated at times. One minute she was considering dumping Jide for the handsome stranger at the restaurant and the next she was being introduced to the handsome stranger as the probable best man at the never to happen wedding. She felt played.

Philip had even had the nerve to call her the evening of the proposed date. She had hissed when she saw the number and immediately cut the call. She was too old to be the butt of some private joke between two friends. Maybe Jide even did it to test her. She actually wished she hadn’t given out her number so easily. It had been a while since anyone gave her butterflies and now Jide and his friend were gonna think she was cheap.

There was also the issue of the ring. Wasn’t marriage the whole point of her putting up with Jide in the first place? Hadn’t Ahmed shown her exactly what happened when one picked love or in this case attraction over suitability? Jide wasn’t the man of her dreams but he was the man of her reality and she wasn’t getting any younger. She was starting to think maybe she should just marry him once and for all. Who knows she could learn to love him one day.

She looked at the time, it was 1am. She desperately needed a sounding board and she didn’t wanna burden Aisha with her problems. She thought of calling Sheila but she wasn’t the best person to wake from sleep and her sarcasm however truthful always proved quite hard to swallow. She settled for Amaka since she often complained of insomnia…

“Hi, Amaka, sorry to be calling so late. Hope I didn’t wake you up”

“Not at all. Is Aisha alright? Hope no problem”

“Aisha’s fine but I’m not…”

30 minutes later they were still on the phone. Amaka was a good listener and hadn’t interrupted her except for occasional clarification.

“Tayo are you sure you do not love Jide? If he gave that ring to another girl, how would that make you feel?”

“I’d feel terrible. He’s the only guy I know who’s remotely interested in me.”

“Tayo you are a very attractive woman. You just need to put yourself out there some more. I think you owe Jide an explanation and owe it to yourself to demand one from Ahmed or is it Philip since you obviously can’t get him out of your mind. I just hope he doesn’t end up hurting you because I actually prefer Jide. There’s a simplicity about him that I like.”

“You sound just like my mother joor”

Both girls giggled. They both knew Tayo’s mom was formidable.

“At least he has proposed. I’m still waiting for Ehis to pop the question though my instincts tell me it will be soon.”

“Lucky you, I wish I could marry someone I actually loved.”

“But Tayo, don’t relationship books say it is better to marry someone who loves you than to marry someone you love? Especially when that someone is a guy? You know how men are!”

“But Amaka, he doesn’t treat me the way I want my man to treat me. He doesn’t buy me nice enough things or take me to fancy restaurants. I know he isn’t the richest guy on earth but I know where he works and have an idea of what he earns and I feel he is just cheap! How can a man love me and be so cheap?”

“Hahaha and I’m supposed to be the igbo girl. You sound quite materialistic boo. See maybe he is saving for his future so that one day he can actually give you all the nice things you deserve.”

“I am NOT materialistic. I just don’t want a man who will not be able to step up to my level of success and wealth. If I can buy myself so many nice things, any man who wants to be my ori must be able to do even more ojare!”

“Well you haven’t been totally honest with him about your work either. I’m sure a man would feel the need to impress a big shot MD more than a secretary. LMAO at secretary. Secretary wey go Harvard Business school! That man doesn’t know you at all.”

“So what do you suggest? Cos this whole matter is robbing me of sleep”

“Just be honest with Jide about everything. I actually would have preferred you didn’t meet with Ahmed sha. He sounds like a distraction.”

“But what if he is my prince charming?”

“Would you risk hurting Jide like that? Why exactly did you run out of the restaurant when you saw them side by side? Don’t answer just think about it. Gotta go babes, need to sleep…”

The next day Tayo decided to invite Jide out for lunch. In the two weeks since she’d seen him, she’d bought herself a sleek new car and found a really nice house despite her mother’s objections. She was a bit afraid that Jide would turn her down but he didn’t. They decided to meet at Mega plaza.

“Hi Jide, it’s been a while”

“You look well Tayo. I’m sorry I haven’t been in touch, I’ve been very busy.”

“Jide…”

Tayo proceeded to tell him everything and it all came pouring out with only momentary pauses to take in some air.

“I’m so sorry Tayo. I feel like this is the first honest conversation we are having. You know I don’t have much and knowing what I know now, I see why you wouldn’t want to marry me…”

“Wait there’s more…”

Tayo told him about Philip. Admittedly she was harder on herself than she should have been but she needed to put everything out in the open.

Jide held her hand.

“I love you Tayo and even though you are the only woman for me, I wasn’t quite honest with myself about the proposal…”

Jide told Tayo about the commissioner and his demands and Tayo smiled. Uncle Afeni was always giving people a hard time.

“Jide I’ll speak to the commissioner for you. He is my uncle.”

“You will? Thank you so much! I’ll forever be in your debt. I would have loved to take our relationship slow babe cos I never ever wanted to lose you…but…”

“But what?”

“I’m getting married this saturday!”

“What?!!!!”

To be continued….

Have a great day peeps…xoxoxo

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2013 in Wedding Chronicles

 

9 responses to “10. Wedding Chronicles: TAYO…the saga continues…

  1. Juwa

    January 29, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    Nice one!! Now d suspense.

     
  2. @Vuprax

    January 29, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    Na wa o.

     
  3. naijaeclectic

    January 29, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    Ahh ahhn…..
    Why do you always end your stories like this?
    I don’t like suspense. *weeps*

     
  4. mavi

    January 29, 2013 at 7:23 pm

    Cn u imagine? Kome ds suspense is killin o. Nice write up cousin

     
  5. osaro

    January 29, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    More pleeaseeeeee.

     
  6. Heiress

    January 30, 2013 at 9:23 am

    Jeez! and how long do we have to wait for the next fix?
    #deep sigh

     
  7. ola

    January 30, 2013 at 10:23 am

    ok, now this is getting interesting…errr puhleaaasee, dont’t put us in suspense for long…

     
  8. Oshoke

    January 30, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    nawa oo!

     
  9. Empress

    January 30, 2013 at 10:47 pm

    Its sooo hard to tell d end 4rm the beginning. Pls dnt kip us in suspense for too long

     

Leave a Reply

 
