RSS

For 5 million naira, I’d do it again!

08 Jul

       I was sitting in a cab stuck in mad Lagos traffic and glanced at my watch, it was 15 minutes to the end of check in time and I knew if I didn’t get a move on it I’d miss my flight. Did I add that it was raining cats and dogs? So there I was beating myself up for not leaving the house 3 hours earlier and silently pleading with the gods of traffic to give me a break when an okada meandered through the stationary cars and zoomed off. Don’t you dare think it, I chastised myself but I glanced at my ticket and thought of how much I’d lose if I missed my flight and everywhere got a bit blurry…

I’m not one of them hustle or die babes but Lord knows I wanna be a billionaire some day and if it takes some dare devil moves to achieve that then pass the vodka and count me in! What am I on about? Every year thousands of Niger Delta youths travel to Port Harcourt with the hope of getting a 5 million naira scholarship and there are some who believe it’s the only way they’ll ever bag their first millions and would do just about anything; anything ranging from giving a bribe or letting some supposedly influential fool have a go at their breasts and willingly kiss arses of different shapes, sizes and smells! The end justifies the means right? I digress…

I thought of my air fare, the 5 million that had my name on it (Don’t hate, just say Amen, any thing’s possible 😉 ) and all the hours of traffic I’d been in and then another okada zoomed past, bringing me out of my reverie. Nothing ventured, nothing gained but I wondered if perhaps missing my flight was a sign that I wasn’t meant to be on that plane (The Dana crash really shook me up!) but again I thought of 5 million naira, money I’d get for doing absolutely nothing and told the cab guy to flag down an okada man. The guy looked at me amazed, he’d put me in a box when I was tryna beat down his outrageous cab fare and no labels in the box said ‘down to earth enough for okadas!’ I rolled my eyes as he stared a little too long and then busied himself hailing a bike in the rain. He finally got one and the guy insisted on charging a thousand naira for a distance that was walk-able all because he could sense the desperation. I must have looked a sight with the rain beating down on me and the greedy okada man aggravating the winds by driving at top speed.

I got to the airport looking like a half-drowned cat and still had to wait an hour and a half before aero called for boarding. The exam was done Naija style with loads of candidates affirming the fact that who you knew would be more important than what you knew and in the long run it was much ado about nothing but it got me thinking. How far would the average Nigerian go to get rich? What would you consider as going too far?

Nigerians have always been religious as well as cunning so high up on the list would be visits to all sorts of spiritualists both conventional and unconventional for wealth. It’s alarming how people gravitate towards churches, seminars, conventions, spiritualists, beach prophetesses and babalawos that promise financial breakthroughs. Those who see all of this as fraud decide that more fraud is the logical way to get rich as the average kid with an honest father watches his father struggle to pay bills just because he won’t bend the rules a little. Even when your mantra isn’t get rich or die trying, it usually hovers somewhere between work smart not hard or shine your eyes. Everyone hails the guy with the money and he’s all good till EFCC nabs him and even then he is scorned for not having enough money to buy them over.

We all need money. Not gonna even joke about it. Even the bible says a poor man has no friends. Being poor and serving God is not an option any more. Money has become as vital as the air we breathe and it governs our every decision but is it enough to want money? Apparently not! If we could sit around wanting and getting, life would be easier at the beginning and then a lot more complicated in seconds. Maybe a long time ago a good education and years of hard work could guarantee a beautiful retirement but ask the unemployed graduates walking the streets or the ones who have to take up menial jobs to survive and they’ll tell you the kids who barely graduated are the ones running the show. Internet fraud is commonplace and only rivalled by the aristo chicks who don’t wanna be left behind in the hustle…and the saga continues…

What happens to the regular folks like you and me whose main hustle is a 9-5 job and maybe a side job (or locum as doctors call it) every once in a while? What happens to the average Joe whose dreams of becoming a millionaire hinge on getting a great business idea and his almost non-existent entrepreneurial skills? What becomes of dreams where a rich benefactor leaves you a million dollars or you land that once in a lifetime opportunity that changes your finances forever? Time and chance happens to us all but some do wanna drive that Bugatti veyron and have realised that doing the same things over and over again will not bring them the millions of their dreams so what’s the deal? How far would you actually go? No one knows what they are capable of till they are faced with extreme temptation. What would you do if you knew you could get away with it or if no one was watching? Sometimes when people criticize corrupt politicians, I wonder if they’d be able to resist bagging those millions if they were in the same boots…

Statistics show that 1 in 4 people would do just about anything to get rich even if they had to sell a body part or dance naked in public as long as the price was right. Would I take a bike in the rain to beat lasgidi traffic in the hope of getting 5 million naira? Yes I would! Does that make me an awful person? I really don’t know and I couldn’t be bothered but maybe one day when I’m a billionaire I’ll read this post again and laugh and hopefully I wouldn’t have gotten my hands dirty in the process cos in all this GOD IS WATCHING YOU! The thing about money is that it could be flighty! Ill gotten gains never last and Miss Karma’s worse than the EFCC. Food for thought or secondary yarns—-> “So many people spend their health gaining wealth, and then have to spend their wealth to regain their health.” “It is health that is real wealth and not pieces of gold and silver.” Contentment is key, whatever sears your conscience or robs you of sleep will not give it back in exchange for all the riches in the world…After all’s been said, man must survive!

Have a great night peeps…xoxoxo 😉

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2012 in Inspirational

 

Tags:

7 responses to “For 5 million naira, I’d do it again!

  1. De Sage Jowiizaza

    July 8, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    great piece ..but why u take okada self : i cant believe u did that..lol

     
  2. ifedayo

    July 9, 2012 at 7:17 am

    Anita the fiesty one! I couldn’t help but laugh as imagined you consoling yourself on the okada as the rains pelleted your hair,ruined your make-up and made you feel colder than a frozen turkey! 5million ni joor…I no blame you Ooº°˚.wishing you all the best.
    Lovely article.

     
  3. worshipandswag

    July 9, 2012 at 7:48 am

    This is intense, lol! I’ll say this: if one has the right frame of mind one’ll make the right choices. The bible says the love of money is the root of all things, not money itself, lol. Contrary to what certain people think, God doesn’t want us to be paupers o. In fact, the bible has more than enough blessings for us but like you said there are sacrifices. The worst will be to sell one’s soul to the devil or degrade humanity by doing yama yama. But go ahead and make that million! A little rain won’t hurt, you’re stronger than that! So remember me o 😀

     
  4. Bello

    July 20, 2012 at 8:01 am

    Its GOD plan

     
  5. brandigest

    August 3, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    Cool piece. Next time, no okada

     
  6. Gabriel

    August 10, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    Money is now driving the world crazy. May God deliver this generation.

     

Leave a Reply

 
