RSS

Life&Times of a Lasgidi Job seeker!

12 Feb

  Ok so yesterday I was a corper and today I’m unemployed and sitting in the reception of a clinic on a street in Onikan waiting for my first interview. I’m in a waist coat and pencil skirt with a big handbag carrying my credentials and I can’t help but smile when I remember the days when job seekers would carry clear bags up and down.
The receptionist is nice though her shrill, bird-like voice and constant chatter doesn’t match my mood. I keep worrying if they are gonna ask me some very hard questions at the interview and from time to time I open my medical text book wondering what on earth I could possibly read in 20 minutes.
It’s finally time for the interview and all’s well till I’m asked what my salary expectations are. My mind goes to the cab guy I had to pay two thousand naira for cab fare and I start to do a mental calculation. Lagos is expensive, I’d make an Akure cab man’s week if I gave him two thousand for one trip. Anyway I give ’em a figure and the look on their faces seems to say I should have asked for more. Oh well, was playing it safe. But truth is, I heard that’s what they pay their medical officers anyway! Then I’m asked what I’d do if I was on call on a sunday morning and there was no water for the patients to take their baths. I attack the question Lasgidi style. ‘Madam first I go assure the patients that the matter dey under control, then I go call security make them get aboki way go fetch water, after that I go pay oh but on monday you go refund my money complete’ 😉
Lol! You know yours truly was at an interview so translate that into butty, Queen’s english and there you have it! The women laughed and then one of ’em said ‘Just call management.’
Now unless management is not ‘Naija-oriented,’ I’ll still be left with the only practical solution which is what I gave ’em. Then they asked me to stand up so they could assess my dressing. Thank God my mama had done that at home. Shirt on point, waist coat on point, skirt way below my knees and not too tight and medium-heeled shoes to match.
They said they’d call and I left just as the second candidate, my friend ‘R’ went in for hers.

After that our waka really began. There was a clinic in Obalende that we wanted to drop our CV’s at and the man we asked for directions assured us that we could walk from Onikan to Obalende, we walked first to an eatery to get some food since it was well past noon and we were at risk of succumbing to the combo of hot sun, high heels and hunger pangs. After that, we walked all the way to the clinic my pencil skirt did not permit okada-hopping and I learned that when going job-hunting in Lagos, trousers are best. We got there tired and breathless and still had to climb up four flights of stairs to drop the CV.
From there we took a cab to V.I to drop one more CV and my friend met up with a blind date.
Mr BD had a lot of attitude and no swag whatsoever in his puny frame and my friend called her matchmaker to give her a piece of her mind!
It cracked me up when she said; ‘How you go give me man way as we dey waka, I go run go front make people no know say we dey together!!! Biko oh’
And it got me thinking, in this day and age, blackberries and social networks have really given blind dates a pair of glasses. The guy obviously preferred a surprise attack!

We hung out at Ice cream factory and I was transported to a land of orgasmic flavors and sinful desserts. It didn’t hurt that the service boys were extremely pleasant and as my friend put it, as good on the eyes as the menu.
We ordered, we laughed, we ate, we had fun and I could’ve sworn it was the Lagos version of ‘Sex and the city’. Three women having a great time and some much-deserved rest after an afternoon of job hunting.
The waiter kept coming to our table to ask us if we needed anything else and my friend noticed his fly was open, we had a good laugh about that after he left. Maybe he was selling something else…
The ice cream was on point and just as I was wondering if it could get any better, eye-candies rolled in. Shout out to Lagos for having some of the hottest guys this side of the Sahara. We giggled and IM’d about ’em and of course the guys had this look on their face of ‘I totally know you girls are checking us out’. Please what happened to guys who in the good ole days were unaware of their obvious hotness? Lagos ti baje.
Didn’t realise I’d missed Lasgidi so much. Too bad my heart’s in another town but abuja holds a lot of promise….I can sense it!

I happened to glance at the time and I exclaimed. I’d totally forgotten that it was a friday and we had chilled till rush hour which was not part of the plan. Blame it on too much enjoyment. I called my trusty but pricey cab man and he said he’d be there in an hour. The girls and I were so engrossed in our discussion that the time flew by and the cab guy was outside waiting. We got in and as we joined the insane traffic I sighed…
Two hours later, still crawling in traffic with our bbs off and our moods borderline irritable, our cab guy had a brainwave and turned off the road. We drove for 5 minutes traffic free only to find ourselves in a traffic worse than the first. Lagos na wa! Going from the island to the mainland on a weekday evening is a hellish experience. L’il wonder most people prefer to chill on the island till the traffic thins out. Since I had a curfew and was wearing clothes I considered stuffy, battling traffic was the only option I allowed myself. I got home at past 9 after driving through inner city markets and unfamiliar roads, handbag and phones tucked securely between our legs on the floor of the cab.
My first day post NYSC and Lagos had already sucked me in and then sucked me dry. I was exhausted and my wallet was depressingly lighter. Spent 6k in one day and from what I heard I didn’t do too badly. I wondered how Lagosians coped with their meagre salaries and maximum expenses?
In Akure, life was so easy and cheap. I’m sure their life expectancy there must surely be higher but what is life if you don’t live it to the fullest right? 😉

Off to Abuja today for a week. Let’s see what the capital city has to offer. Holla at your girl….have a great day folks…xoxo 😉

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2011 in Memoirs

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Life&Times of a Lasgidi Job seeker!

  1. DL

    February 12, 2011 at 8:06 am

    Welcome to jamrock….i hope ur folks got ur back cos 6k a day?

     
    • nitarules

      February 12, 2011 at 8:15 am

      Na the first day now, I never soji!
      Sent from my BlackBerry wireless device from MTN

       
  2. kehinde

    February 12, 2011 at 8:22 am

    abuja is more expensive so hold more than that 6k

     
  3. lemmyroy

    February 12, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Welcome to lasgidi babes….don’t worry about minimum wage and all dat ,d streets knos better than dat!lol…….anywaiz,jus kip it positive,lasgidi has missed Ʊ!fink not about d money,jus join flexing club!!!lol

     
  4. Tola

    February 12, 2011 at 10:01 am

    Hey babes… God dey! Ain’t no traffic in Abuja though. Nice script.

     
  5. layo

    February 12, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Pele, yesterday was really bad though, I got home 12am cos my friends and I had to go chill someplace on the Island till the traffic thinned out and believe me it was still bad cos when we hit the road at 10pm there was still traffic! Wish you all the best with the job hunt thing!

     
  6. dapxin

    February 13, 2011 at 1:50 am

    easy v cheap and fullest living?

    Discuss.

    /smh

     
  7. Dr Henri

    February 14, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    Welldone Anita. Your write ups make an interesting read. I guess your senses are really on a spike…your expectations about Abuja are already coming at you with a rush. If you choose to remain in Abuja, you will most likely be thankful you did. Abuja is not that expensive except for accommodation costs. Once you are locked down on that,you are good to rock n roll. You can only pay N2k for transport if you are going like 30mins from the city centre…and in Abuja, that’s far. Most cab drops are N200 – N350 one way.Food costs same like any other major city. Hanging out…same.And hey! Abuja has transformed into a vibey metropolis. If you find the right company, no dull moment.My take: Abuja is presently the sanest city in Nig to live in…

     
  8. facebook

    February 16, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    i love it

     

Leave a Reply

 
